BT Information Security Journalism Awards 2013: the winners

The waiting is finally over! The winners of the 2013 Information Security Awards have been announced. 

The shortlist for this year’s awards contained the best and the brightest, and proved to be the most popular to date. They serve as a testament to the growing recognition of the vital role that information security plays within organisations today.

So, without any further delay, the winners are:

Information Security Journalist of the Year:

Tom Brewster (known for his freelance work and his work for TechWeekEurope) took home this award for the second year in a row. Tom proved his credentials with a number of in-depth and probing investigations into key topics including EU data privacy, national cyber policing and government privacy policy.

Best Information Story of the Year:

Nick Hopkins, defence editor of The Guardian, walked away with the prize for his global exclusive: ‘UK gathering secret intelligence via covert NSA operation’.

Best Overall Information Security Feature Article of the Year:

Aasha Bodhani (Engineering & Technology) scooped the award for her outstanding feature exploring the concept of the ethical hacker — ‘Bad… In a Good Way’ (print only — Engineering & Technology, December 2012).

Best Privacy Feature of the Year:

James Temperton, a new entrant, won the prize for his article: ‘Stop the Government Spying on You’ (print only — Computeractive, June 2013).

Best Cybercrime Feature of the Year:

Ryan Gallagher (The Guardian) won for his piece ‘How Barrett Brown went from Anonymous’s PR to federal target’.

Best Investigative Feature of the Year:

Danny Bradbury, long-standing security authority, secured the award for his investigation into medical device hacking, ‘The Prognosis for Medical Device Security’, published in Infosecurity.

Best International Feature/News Story of the Year:

Danny Bradbury’s second win of the evening, for his feature ‘SCAMMED’, published in specialist journal MATTER.

Best Security Broadcast Feature/News Story of the Year:

BBC News correspondent Gordon Corera was walked away with the award for his BBC Radio 4 discussion ‘Under Attack — The Threat from Cyberspace’.

The BT Enigma Award:

This year, the prize went to Wendy Grossman for her dedication and outstanding contribution to information security journalism, recognising her extensive writing on the subject for several publications over a number of years.


Ray Stanton, vice president of BT Advise, BT Global Services, and chairman of the judging panel concluded, “This has been another fantastic year for the awards. Articles submitted have included some of the most significant and agenda-setting news stories entered into the awards to date. I would like to congratulate all of our winners and shortlisted journalists on the outstanding quality of their submissions and their commitment to moving the security debate forward.”

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees.


Speak Your Mind